Neuroplasticity-part 7 Aging and Brain plasticity

I’ve arrived where my journey started; trying to learn what I need to do to sharpen my brain.

Here’s a quick 4 minute video to get started:

The following 2006 video by Dr. Michael Merzenich (Calisthenics for the Older Brain ) on youtube is a little old but I think it is just as valid today as it was in 2006. If you are only interested in the part on the aging brain start viewing at 50 minutes and 24 seconds (50:24).  In the video he mentions the site http://positscience.com as under construction. It’s up and going today. In the video he gave me lots of reasons why I should change my daily habits and need to learn new things, i.e. exercise my brain. View the video and I think you will come away with a good reason why you too need to make a positive changes.

Here is a page from positscience.com which you should probably read before going any further: http://www.positscience.com/news/use-it-or-lose-it-principles-brain-plasticity

So now that we know we need to change our brain lifestyle, what do we do? Here is Dr. Daniel Amen’s TED video. I don’t know much about his brain scans but his list of what is bad for the brain and what is good look about right to me. You should probably do your own research.

Here is the list of things that Dr. Amen says hurt our brain:

  • Brain injuries
  • Drugs and alcohol
  • Obesity
  • Smoking
  • High blood pressure
  • Diabetes
  • SAD diet
  • Environmental toxins
  • Lack of exercise
  • ANTS (automatic negative thoughts)

Here is his list of things we should be doing to Enhance our brain:

  • Positive social connections
  • New learning
  • Great diet
  • Sleep
  • Exercise
  • Physical health
  • Healthy anxiety
  • Meditation
  • Gratitude
  • ANT killing

More material will be forth coming as I research the topic more.

Steve

_______________________________

About stevebatty

Retired adult eductor and life long learner.
This entry was posted in neuroplasticity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

